Toddler Smoothie

It’s official. My tiny, new-born baby girl has turned into toddler.

IMG_4988-001

Gone are the days of my six-month-old chub-monster who ate everything I set in front of her because she didn’t know any better.

She knows better now, and she’ll tell you about it. Alllll about it.

IMG_4987-001

Luckily, she’s still a great eater. She will take down a 16 oz tub of hummus in five minutes flat. She adores raw tomatoes. She likes sprouts, chickpeas, green beans, kale chips, and every fruit imaginable.

But there are days when she will only eat cheese and blueberries.

There are days when she toddles over to the pantry and says the word cracker more times than I can count.

There are days when she demands ground bison and will entertain no other foods. True story.

IMG_4989-001

That’s all good and fine. She can eat as much ground bison as she wants – it doesn’t bother me a bit. Except when it’s 7am and she won’t stop saying cracker (and she’s already eaten three) and I can see that look in her eye that she would flip for some ground meat, but the last thing on God’s green earth that I want to do is thaw and brown some bison for breakfast.

IMG_4983-002

So, we go for the smoothie. With a straw.

Straws for the win. Always.

Toddler Smoothie

  • 5-6 small strawberries
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 handful spinach
  • 3-4 mint leaves
  • 1/2 c oats
  • 1/2 c cherry juice
  • 1/2 c water
  • handful of ice cubes

Put all ingredients into a blender and mix on high until everything is incorporated. I realize the color is putrid, but I promise you, the taste is not. Adrienne says so.

IMG_4990-001

Now if only there was an easy solution this easy for teeth brushing. (No, seriously…I need some advice. Girl has 10 teeth and refuses to have anything to do with a toothbrush. Heeeelp!)

50 thoughts on “Toddler Smoothie

  1. I don’t usually comment on blogposts, but I had to for this one.
    This post cracks me up 🙂 Your daughter is so adorable! and haha that comment about the browning bison for breakfast had me going LOL

    oh and kudos to you for getting her to like veggies and the whole introduction to real food thing 🙂 It’s good to see kids liking veggies 🙂

  2. I used to do the same with my little girl! For teeth brushing…brush your teeth with her. If she sees mommy do it, she’s more likely do join in. Otherwise, have her brush your teeth while and then you brush her’s. She’ll be laughing. I hold my 2 year old flat on the bed and brush them for her after she’s “brushed” them and I sing a tooth brushing song to her. This way they get super scrubbed. She faught me at first but got used to it after a few days.

  3. OMG! She is so freaking adorable!!! That last picture is like “Mom, I see you trying to take my picture…get that thing away from me, I am trying ta eat here!” LOL. Yeah, the toddler tug of stubborn will-power war is trying, and hilarious! Good luck! As far as teeth brushing, we used to brush while listening to their favorite children’s song and they loved it.

  4. Too funny! I just found your blog and love your writing style! I’m not sure how old your daughter is exactly, but watch out for the 2-year mark! Mine underwent some sort of radical transformation that left her with an affinity for the word ‘no’ as well as a picky-as-can-be palate. She won’t eat her oatmeal anymore, so I’ll have to sneak it in a smoothie like this. ;o)

  5. Give her the toothbrush with toothpaste on it and let her do it herself. Then when she’s done, tell her it’s Mommy’s turn and sing her favorite song while you do it. I can’t even count the number of times I brushed my daughter’s teeth singing “The Wheels on the Bus”!

    • Thank you!! We always let her hold the toothbrush, and we have a tooth-brushing-song, but she still planks, and screams and seals her mouth shut. We will just keep trying…I appreciate the advice!

  6. Nothing cuter than a baby/toddler drinking out a straw!

    I must admit that I kind of eat like toddler (in bigger portion sizes), so I’m going to try this smoothie for myself…with a side of extra cheesy goldfish.

  7. Been there with the same frustrations! She will get the hang of if after a bit. I do believe doing this chore together really is the best way of teaching her this new routine. Modeling proper behavior is still the best instruction :-)! I used to let my kids pick out their favorite toothbrushes….Yes, sometimes having a choice worked! I even let them just chew on a toothbrush after eating especially when teething. Making sure she gets a good swig of water after eating will help rinse her beautiful new teeth, too! Good luck :-)!

  8. Oh man, I remember the days of trying to con a little into letting me brush her teeth! We had to let our oldest think she was doing it herself. We’d brush together, side by side at the sink, then I could convince her to “let me double check your work.” A lot of times it was a no-go with the toothbrush, so I’d just gently pin her to me and go at them with a clean damp wash rag over a finger. It’s can be difficult. One kid was easy with the teeth brushing, one was not. Same with potty training. How about one of those tooth brushes that’ll play music? I don’t remember how small the heads on those were. It worked for my kids when they were older and didn’t want to brush.

      • You are welcome. Of course, sometimes it’s taxing my brain power to think that far back! 🙂 My girls will be 11 & 13 this summer. Enjoy your darling little. She’s absolutely adorable, and I love seeing her happy little face. Hope you have a blessed and joyful weekend.

  9. Haha – I always found the hardest part of tooth brushing was getting them to actually do it and not just suck the toothpaste off the brush. Maybe just let her play with a toothbrush so she’ll be more interested in it? Toothbrushing or not, she’s just the darn cutest thing I’ve ever seen.

  10. Sounds like an amazing smoothie! Lyric just learned how to use a straw so smoothies are on the menu more often. Of course if I put a cup like that in front of her she’d throw it at me. Or on the cat…

    I’m curious to hear what works in the toothbrushing dept!

    • Teaching A to use a straw was one of the first (and BEST) skills I taught her. Then she could drink at restaurants without the sippy cup. Saved our lives.

  11. My 16 month old only has 4 teeth, and will not let us brush his teeth, nor will he do it himself. My 3 year old brushes her teeth. What worked was getting a battery operated one. We will have to do the same for my son. Thankfully, he doesn’t have too many teeth yet!

  12. Oh, I feel your pain Katie. I have to sit on the toliet, put our 14 mo. old between my legs and pin her down to brush her teeth. And she’s strong! I usually break out in a sweat halfway through, no joke. But our 2.5 year old is much better. It does get easier.

    I featured your blog on mine today!

  13. Ryan & I have always brushed our teeth around her, so that she could see us doing it. We have the mechanical kind, so she would always get a kick out of reaching up and touching the handle. When it came time for her to start, we just asked her one day and she got excited to do what Mommy & Daddy do. Just try not to make a big deal out of it (don’t show her your frustration) and start, if you don’t already, brushing your teeth around her. Maybe she’ll want to then too!
    Just went and read that others had similar advice- hope it helps!

  14. Wow! She is growing up so fast!! I love what a great mama you are when it comes to food. She is eating all the healthy REAL foods and none of the typical baby food crap that most of my friends buy….as in the more processed the better. Ick. And I mean I guess logically I KNEW she was talking but you never really talk about it…so it makes me smile to imagine her toddler voice! 🙂

  15. She is so cute! It’s a good thing you have a friend that is a dental hygienist! 😉 Try getting some of the Thomas the Train toothpaste- it won’t matter if she eats it… completely safe! If you can’t find that just make sure you get a children’s toothpaste with no fluoride until she starts spitting it all out. Brush with her and let her see you doing it too. Also, let her pick out her toothbrush- that way it is a treat for her.

  16. About a month ago Will was refusing every last thing I put in front of him. I broke down and made him a blueberry banana smoothie and you know what? He sucked it down.

    We still struggle with the tooth brushing, but just try to do our best to get as much as we can in. We do it during bath time, so he’s just a little more confined and can’t wiggle as much.

Leave a Reply

