Cucumber and Orange Salad

IMG_4646-001

Okay, continuing on with this I Love Summer Theme (for the next 365 days, puhleeeeeze) – I’m going to make you look at pictures of bright cheery things.

Like….cucumber peels?

IMG_4666-001

Okay, nevermind. But seriously, how refreshing are cucumbers? If you could bite a piece of summertime, I think it would taste like a cucumber mixed with a watermelon.

I feel refreshed just thinking about it.

IMG_4676-001

Oh, and speaking of mixing vegetables with fruits, my mama and I once planted a bunch of watermelons next to a bunch of pumpkins and a few of them cross-pollinated. We ended up with this weird mix that looked like a pumpkin with stripes, and smelled like a watermelon. No one believes me when I tell them that story – especially not my logical-left-brained husband – but it really did happen.

This fruit-vegetable combo is much more feasible, and it tastes delicious, too. Which is more than I can say about the watermelon-pumpkin phenomenon of 1992.

IMG_4685-001

Cucumber and Orange Salad

serves 4

  • 2 large cucumbers
  • 1 medium orange
  • 1 lime
  • a handful of mint leaves
  • 3-4 chives
  • 1/4 C feta cheese

Peel, seed, and chop the cucumbers into smallish bite sized pieces. (To get rid of the seeds, slice length-wise and scrape a spoon down the seedy middle part of the cucumber. Do it over your sink or a bowl, and those juicy seeds will fly right out)

Then cut the peel off the orange, and dice that into similarly sized pieces as the cucumber. Then combine the rest of the ingredients, toss, and serve chilled.

IMG_4687-001

39 thoughts on “Cucumber and Orange Salad

  1. um…that really DOES scream summertime. I love it. What I don’t love is the 65 degree weather today. What? It was 95 on Monday! Crazy Utah.

  2. I loved, loved, loved cucumbers but had to stop eating them for like a year after trying a 3-day juice fast and puking from the cucumber juice. It was just far too green – no fruit in there whatsoever and it gave me a serious aversion to them for so long!

  3. Oh my gosh, did you try eating it??? Hilarious…I totally believe you!! A mix between cucumber + watermelon is right. Have you ever blended the two together? Delicious.

  4. Tried to google watermelon pumpkin mixes – doesn’t exist on google picture search, though. Does that mean it doesn’t exist at all? A Wittgenstein’ish kinda thought.

      • whoa, how could i forget the watermelon pumpkins?! maybe it happened the summer i was at sanborn?? seriously, i think i would have remembered!

  5. This sounds so refreshing. I love simple summer salads and all the combos. Let’s all have a cook out at Katie’s. Praying for you girl!

    • Thank you for your continued prayers – they are much appreciated. (And you are welcome to come over for a cook out annnny old time you want)

  6. I love fresh summer salads like this and I LOVE that it’s time to enjoy them. 🙂

    • Thank you…and yes, I have a canon rebel t2i…and I actually don’t use that little photo booth anymore, just a bright sunny summer kitchen with LOTS of light. Light is the key!

  7. This salad sounds amazing! I am going straight to the farmers market after my run to pick up some fresh veges and will be sure to get some cucumbers to make this for lunch!

  8. I am not a superfan of cucumber, I don’t know why, but its flavor is too cucumbery for me, maybe 😛 But you’ve convinced me! I must try this salad, it looks really good and orange seems to make cucumber flavor much softer 😉

Leave a Reply

