Butternut Bacon Pasta

Adrienne, Punky, and I headed out for our walk this morning without so much as glancing outside.

IMG_5248-1

We were half way through our route when I realized that it couldn’t be more than 50 degrees outside. Luckily, I had the foresight to put a hat on my little bald baby, but her poor little hands were freezing (Punky was fine in her enormously thick coat).

When we got home (after I had wrapped Baby A snugly in a blanket) I decided to make dinner. At 8:30am.

IMG_5258-1

This is the kind of dish you want to devour after a cold walk in the wind.

Or after apple picking on a chilly day.

Or immediately following a hayride.

Or before you go trick-or-treating on a nippy evening.

Basically, you need to make and eat this dish during the fall.

IMG_5263-1

Butternut Bacon Pasta

  • 1 butternut squash
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1/2 red onion, sliced
  • 4 slices bacon, chopped
  • 1 box whole wheat pasta
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • parmesan cheese (for serving)

Peel and dice the butternut squash. Combine with olive oil and roast at 450* for 45 – 60 minutes, until tender and browned. Meanwhile, sauté the red onion and bacon pieces. Set aside.

Cook the pasta, reserving 1/2 cup of the pasta water.

Once the squash is done, combine 1 cup of the pieces with the coconut milk and the reserved cooking liquid. Blend on high until a thick sauce is formed.

Combine all ingredients, sprinkle with parmesan cheese and serve.

IMG_5255-1

I stood over the stove shoveling bite after bite of this into my mouth when it was finished. I guess that’s what happens when you fill the house with smells of roasting butternut squash and bacon before you’ve had breakfast.

35 thoughts on “Butternut Bacon Pasta

  1. Even though I’ve been a vegetarian for nearly a year, I find myself craving bacon & sausage lately. If I can get over looking at raw meat, this might be the straw that breaks the camel’s back!

    and I’m still jealous of your cool weather.

  2. Gah that looks so good. I want to be eating it right now – does it count to eat it while sitting in an office? It’s not so much a Fall activity but could it just count so that I can have it??

  3. yum butternut squash + bacon seems like a dream combo! haha I love that you made this at 8:30 am too, because sometimes I crave dinner foods for breakfast! or like today when I made a dessert at 3:30pm. Time is just a number and you should be able to eat good food anytime!

  4. Basically….you need to move to LA cause
    A) its 72 degress, all year…give or take one or two degrees here and there
    B) you can live near me and make me this pasta

    • It is IMPOSSIBLE with the stroller. I have to put A in the little backpack – otherwise, she yanks me, the stroller, and the baby all over the place. She’s not very good on a leash. Hah.

  5. Holy heavens of the EARTH. That doesn’t make much sense, but I’ve just come home from a trip and I can’t even see straight.

    I’ve missed you. And I SO WISH I could have seen you. Grrr!

  6. WANT.

    in fact, i have almost all the ingredients at home. i may be making this this week…is it guy approved? i may or may not be having a manfriend over for dinner this week.

  7. Pingback: 10 Reasons Why I Haven’t Blogged Since Tuesday | The Healthy Everythingtarian

  8. Pingback: Ginger Kabocha Purée « Yes, I want cake.

  9. Pingback: 2012 « Yes, I want cake.

Leave a Reply

