Kale and Parmesan Flat Bread

IMG_5208

I’m on a pizza kick. Remember that pizza I made this weekend? I haven’t really wanted anything else since then.

But here’s a little weird tidbit you probably didn’t know about me – I don’t like tomatoes.

I know, I know.

Okay, I sort of take it back – because I don’t hate tomatoes, but I really don’t love them. Which means I don’t really love tomato sauce.

IMG_5219

For me, the perfect pizza has no sauce. I think it’s called flatbread.

Wait, you spy tomatoes on this flatbread? You caught me. Meeker likes tomatoes. A lot. So, I added them.

But I used the diced kind from a can because nothing grosses me out more than cutting a slimy, seedy, tomato into cubes. (It reminds me of something I find inside of Adrienne’s diaper. Sorry for that visual).

I still maintain that this flatbread has no sauce. Even with the tomatoes.

IMG_5212

Kale and Parmesan Flat Bread

Adapted from Real Simple

Toppings

  • 3 T olive oil
  • 1/2 red onion, sliced
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 bunch kale, stems removed
  • 1 cup canned, diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1 1/2 c parmesan cheese, shredded
  • salt and pepper to taste

Cut (or tear) the kale into bite sized pieces. Sautee the onion and garlic until softened. Then add the kale, a handful at a time, until it is all wilted and tender. About 5 minutes. Set aside.

Flat Bread

  • 1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup lukewarm water
  • 1 tablespoon yeast
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

Directions:

Preheat oven 425 degrees Fahrenheit.  Mix the yeast with the lukewarm water until the yeast is dissolved. Let it stand for a couple minutes. Add the salt and vegetable oil/melted margarine. Mix. Add the flour, and mix. Roll out the dough. Put it in the oven for 5 minutes. Take it out and add 3/4 cup cheese, the toppings, the rest of the cheese and cook for 10-15 more minutes.

IMG_5222

Crunchy, sauce-less, flatbread. This is my kind of pizza.

39 thoughts on “Kale and Parmesan Flat Bread

  1. I have mixed feelings about tomatoes… Like you I don’t hate them, but don;t love them either… I always leave them aside in salads and pick them off pizza if they are a topping. I DO however love love love tomato sauce. Love the idea of kale on pizza… must have been absolutely delicious 🙂

  2. I used to be so totally with you!! I got food poisoning when I was 7, after eating lasagne for lunch and after that I Would.Not.Touch.Tomatoes. I might be persuaded to have a raw one in a sandwich … but probably not. I wouldn’t eat mushrooms, eggplants or zuchinni either (just don’t think about vegetarian lasagne too much!). Pizza I loved, but I has to take the topping off, scape of almost all the sauce, then put the topping back … and only if it was pureed – lumpy sauce = I’d cook my own dinner!! 😛

    • Mmm, that’s a battle I’ll have to fight about when it comes up! I definitely won’t make her clean her plate (I can’t think of anything more miserable than being forced to eat when you are not hungry/don’t like something!), but we’ll just have to see what happens beyond that!

      • Amen!! I can’t think of a better way to start a kid off on a rocky/unhealthy path with food then forcing them to eat even when they aren’t hungry or don’t like something!
        I am with you on much of your “about” and love following your blog! Your adorable little Babycakes makes me quite broody!! 😉

      • Well thank you! I know it’s a touchy subject with a lot of people, but that’s one thing I know I WILL NOT do. We’ll figure the rest out, right?

  3. The pizza looks great! In all of your food explorations have you found a good gluten free pizza crust? We use Udi’s but I would like to make my own.

  4. Man you make pizza making look easy! I love how you incorporated then # 1 superfood into a lot of American’s favorite dish! (mine is seafood!) I wonder what would happen if we did a pizza switch around the country, I bet people would be a lot healthier! Healthier pizza = end to obesity epidemic? haha only in my dreams…..

  5. I love tomatoes but i still think that this would be super tasty! i guess it does have them on it so it wins for both sides 🙂 unless you really can’t STAND them 😛 I’m in such a pizza mood today too!

  6. Pingback: Mix 1 Review | Raising a baby and eating healthy on a budget.

  7. Pingback: Pizza Night Packs a Punch |

  8. Pingback: my dream [blog] meal « What Kelly Said

  9. Pingback: 2012 « Yes, I want cake.

Leave a Reply

